Annie Leibovitz was a celebrated photographer.This American artist won many hearts during her lifetime and was known for her insightful thoughts regarding photography. She was particularly known for her portrait photography.Annie Leibovitz quotes contain her views on the art of photography, her intentions, and her wish to be able to capture nature’s magnificence, as well as each emotion that a photograph could invoke. She was also very outspoken about her interest in art and the many people whom she has drawn inspiration from over the years.Her photography was mainly limited to the portraits of celebrities - which meant that many people had access to them via various media sources. She worked for magazines such as the Rolling Stone and Vanity Fair, which made her a household name. Her photography was also displayed in many exhibitions throughout the world!Annie Leibovitz Quotes On PhotographyHere are some of the initial impressions or quotes that Leibovitz had when she took up photography.“The first thing I did with my very first camera was climb Mt. Fuji. Climbing Mt. Fuji is a lesson in determination and moderation. It would be fair to ask if I took the moderation part to heart. But it certainly was a lesson in respecting your camera.”“When I started working for Rolling Stone, I became very interested in journalism and thought maybe that’s what I was doing, but it wasn’t true. What became important was to have a point of view."“The camera makes you forget you’re there. It’s not like you are hiding but you forget, you are just looking so much.”“I feel more like a creative artist using photography because there’s - the digital work is so interesting now. It’s come to that. I have had many different stages of photography - there are many different ways to take photos. But I feel now I’m in that stage of my life where I use the camera, you know, in that way.““As a young person, and I know it’s hard to believe that I was shy, but you could take your camera, and it would take you to places: it was like having a friend, like having someone to go out with and look at the world. I would do things with a camera I wouldn’t do normally if I was just by myself."“My hope is that we continue to nurture the places that we love, but that we also look outside our immediate worlds.”“I was scared when I went to Conde Nast. I had heard horror stories about how they used you up and then spit you out and went on. But there was this great history of photography that had been done there.““Computer photography won’t be photography as we know it. I think photography will always be chemical.““The pictures of my family were designed to be on a family wall, they were supposed to be together. It was supposed to copy my mother’s wall in her house.““What I learned from Lennon was something that did stay with me my whole career, which is to be very straightforward. I actually love talking about taking pictures, and I think that helps everyone.““At my Rolling Stones’ tour, the camera was a protection. I used it in a Zen way."“When I started to be published I thought about Margaret Bourke-White and the whole journalistic approach to things. I believed I was supposed to catch life going by me – that I wasn’t to alter it or tamper with it – that I was just to watch what was going on and report it as best I could."“There are still so many places on our planet that remain unexplored. I’d love to one day peel back the mystery and understand them.”“When you are on assignment, film is the least expensive thing in a very practical sense. Your time, the person’s time, turns out to be the most valuable thing.” – Annie Leibovitz“When I say I want to photograph someone, what it really means is that I’d like to know them. Anyone I know I photograph.”“I no longer believe that there is such a thing as objectivity. Everyone has a point of view. Some people call it style, but what we’re really talking about is the guts of a photograph. When you trust your point of view, that’s when you start taking pictures.”“Photography’s like this baby that needs to be fed all the time. It’s always hungry. It needs to be read to, taken care of. I had to nourish my work with different approaches."“Coming tight was boring to me, just the face… it didn’t have enough information.”“One of the reasons that I went to Vanity Fair was that I knew I would have a broader range of subjects – writers, dancers, artists and musicians of all kinds. And I wanted to learn about glamour."“I feel a responsibility to my backyard. I want it to be taken care of and protected.”“I admire the work of photographers like Beaton, Penn, and Avedon, as much as I respected grittier photographers such as Robert Frank. But in the same way that I’d had to find my own way of reportage, I had to find my own form of glamour.”Annie Leibovitz Quotes On DiscoveryThe things that Leibovitz had to say about the things she discovered while learning photography were truly interesting to hear. Let’s take a look at them.“I fell in love with the darkroom, and that was part of being a photographer at the time. The darkroom was unbelievably sexy. I would spend all night in the darkroom."“I’ve said about a million times that the best thing a young photographer can do is to stay close to home. Start with your friends and family, the people who will put up with you. Discover what it means to be close to your work, to be intimate with a subject."“I’d like to think that the actions we take today will allow others in the future to discover the wonders of landscapes we helped protect but never had the chance to enjoy ourselves.”“I feel unbelievably blessed that I have had the opportunity to photograph Malala in her classroom in Birmingham."“When I take a picture I take 10 percent of what I see.”“I went to school at the San Francisco Art Institute, thinking I was going to become an art teacher. Within the first six months I was there, I was told that I couldn’t be an art teacher unless I became an artist first."“I wish that all of nature’s magnificence, the emotion of the land, the living energy of place could be photographed.”“Nature is so powerful, so strong. Capturing its essence is not easy – your work becomes a dance with light and the weather. It takes you to a place within yourself.”“What I am interested in now is the landscape. Pictures without people. I wouldn’t be surprised if eventually there are no people in my pictures. It is so emotional.”“A thing that you see in my pictures is that I was not afraid to fall in love with these people.” Annie Leibovitz Quotes On Life “My early childhood equipped me really well for my portrait work: The quick encounter, where you are not going to know the subject for very long. These days I am much more comfortable with the fifteen minute relationship, than I am with a life long relationship.”“My father was stationed at Clark Air Base in the Philippines, which had a hospital where they brought casualties straight from the battlefield. My mother was kind of a sophisticated bohemian, and my father was in the military to make a living."“If it makes you cry, it goes in the show.”“I sometimes find the surface interesting. To say that the mark of a good portrait is whether you get them or get the soul - I don’t think this is possible all of the time. ““Lennon was very helpful. What he taught me seems completely obvious: he expected people to treat each other well.” Inspirational Quotes By Annie LeibovitzYes, photography, pictures, and being so close to nature can keep one’s inspiration on its toes. Here are some inspirational quotes that Leibovitz had to say about photography.“A very subtle difference can make the picture or not.”“I think self-portraits are very difficult. I’ve always seen mine as straightforward, very stripped down, hair pulled back. No shirt. Whatever light happened to be available. I’d want it to be very graphic – about darkness and light. No one else should be there, but I’m scared to do it by myself. I’ve been thinking about it for a long time. The whole idea of a self-portrait is strange. I’m so strongly linked to how I see through the camera that to get to the other side of it would be difficult. It would be as if I were taking a photograph in the dark.”“I actually love talking about taking pictures, and I think that helps everyone.”“Those who want to be serious photographers, you’re really going to have to edit your work. You’re going to have to understand what you’re doing. You’re going to have to not just shoot, shoot, shoot. To stop and look at your work is the most important thing you can do.““I was scared to do anything in the studio because it felt so claustrophobic. I wanted to be somewhere where things could happen and the subject wasn’t just looking back at you."“One doesn’t stop seeing. One doesn’t stop framing. It doesn’t turn off and turn on. It’s on all the time.”“There must be a reason why photographers are not very good at verbal communication. I think we get lazy.““As fantastic as it is to have ‘Vogue’ and ‘Vanity Fair’ as places to work, I don’t often get to shoot the kind of things I like to photograph in the way I like to photograph.““One of the great things about being an older person is that I am very aware of the scope of the work and the historical sense of it. It’s bigger than me."“I’ve always cared more about taking pictures than about the art market”.“I am impressed with what happens when someone stays in the same place and you took the same picture over and over and it would be different, every single frame.”“You don’t have to sort of enhance reality. There is nothing stranger than truth.”“In a portrait, you have room to have a point of view. The image may not be literally what’s going on, but it’s representative.”“Sometimes I enjoy just photographing the surface because I think it can be as revealing as going to the heart of the matter.”

Annie Leibovitz was a celebrated photographer.