Born on August 29, 1921, in Queens, New York, United States, Iris Apfel was in the textile business from 1950-1992 with her husband.Through the years, the fashion icon amassed a wealth of experience, which she has often shared with budding fashionistas. Over the years, Iris Apfel carried an attitude of enjoying life to the fullest and staying true as a person.The American businesswoman depicted a similar life mantra in her outfits as she is still remembered for her eye-catching ‘coke bottle glasses’ and other outfits, which gave the woman an iconic look. Apart from being a model and a fashion icon, Iris Apfel was also the interior designer for the White House spanning nine presidential terms. The fashion icon never stood back when it came to sharing the wisdom of experience. Scroll down to read some of the most famous Iris Apfel quotes to draw some inspiration and build a positive outlook on life.Iris Apfel Quotes about Style[IMAGE](In her documentary as well, Iris Apfel has stressed that the goal isn’t to look pretty but enjoy when we look at the mirror.)We are all familiar with the personal style and flamboyant personality of Iris Apfel. Here are some of her most celebrated quotes about the same.“Fashion you can buy, but style you possess. The key to style is learning who you are, which takes years. There’s no how-to road map to style. It’s about self-expression and, above all, attitude.““I think dressing up or down should be a creative experience. Exciting. Fun. For me the key to personal style lies in accessories. I love objects from different worlds, different eras, combined my way. Never uptight, achieving - hopefully - a kind of throwaway chic.““Downtown, they think they’re stylish, but they all wear black. That’s not really style. That’s a uniform.““I think jewelry can change an outfit more than anything else. Transformation, punch, individuality: One or all of the above are why you should wear jewelry.““It’s not what you wear but HOW YOU WEAR IT.““You’re not pretty, and you’ll never be pretty. But, it doesn’t matter. You have something much better. You have style.““I can’t tell people how to have style. No amount of money can buy you style. It’s just instinctive.““The fun of getting dressed is it’s a creative experience.““It’s better to be happy and comfortable than well dressed.““I’m not a pretty person. I don’t like pretty, so I don’t feel badly. Most of the world is not with me, but I don’t care.““Understated jewellery is not for me. It’s too itsy-bitsy. My husband is lucky, as I’ve never had a yen for real jewels.““What’s my style is not your style, and I don’t see how you can define it. It’s something that expresses who you are in your own way.“Iris Apfel Quotes about Age[IMAGE](Iris Apfel is a 100 years young and signed with IMG as a model at 97.)Iris Apfel is a glaring example of the saying that age is just a number. The fashion icon has lived by principles of enjoying her life. The below list of quotes reflect the similar ideology of the American businesswoman.“I never think about my age. Maybe that’s the ticket. I never think about it — it’s a passing thought. It’s just a number. … I’ve found that work is very healthy for me. I love what I do and I put my heart and soul into it.““If your hair is done and you’re wearing good shoes, you can get away with anything.““My first big job in beauty and fashion came when I was at the tender age of ninety.““I don’t see anything wrong with a wrinkle. It’s kind of a badge of courage.““If you’re lucky enough to get old, I think you should celebrate it.““I still have the dress I wore on the first date with my husband, which was more than 66 years ago. I still have it, and it still fits.““In my view, you can’t go to the future if you haven’t come from the past.““I see myself as the world’s oldest living teenager… I try to get as much kick out of things as possible.““Fashion has this youth mania. But 70-year-old ladies don’t have 18-year-old bodies, and 18-year-olds don’t have a 70-year-old’s dollars.“Iris Apfel Quotes about FashionIris Apfel is the epitome of fashion who has been a part of this industry for decades and keeps inspiring young individuals with her huge experience and wisdom.“When you don’t dress like everybody else, you don’t have to think like everybody else.““My look is either very baroque or very Zen - everything in between makes me itch.““Clothes are not frippery. Properly done, they can be an art form.““I was never hurt by what anybody said about my clothes, because I dress to please myself. If somebody doesn’t like what I’m wearing, it’s their problem, not mine.““I am not a fashionista, and I don’t dress up. Usually, if I’m at home, where I am now, I’m wearing a robe.““I say, dress to please yourself. Listen to your inner muse and take a chance. Wear something that says ‘Here I am!’ today.““When the fun goes out of dressing, you might as well be dead.““I don’t dress to be stared at, I dress for myself.““I’m a color person, I’ve never been known to play it safe. Plus I like big bags. My eyeglasses are so big; they don’t fit into smaller bags.““Oh my God, I’m a walking advertisement for discounted shopping.““There’s different shopping in Paris than there is at a bazaar in Istanbul, but they’re all wonderful.““I never buy what someone says is ‘in’ or a ‘must-have.’ I buy what makes me happy.““I’m a hopeless romantic. I buy things because I fall in love with them. I never buy anything just because it’s valuable.““I get very involved with my things, and they are not standard equipment.““People are not getting dressed anymore. Everybody looks like a mess, like they’re on their way to a shower bath or who knows where.““I love high-end designers, but a head-to-toe designer look for me is extremely boring. I’ve always mixed it up.““I think fashion is just part of my life and if it hadn’t of been fashion then it would have been something else.““Coco Chanel said take one thing off. I always said put another one on.“Iris Apfel Quotes about LifeIris Apfel is undoubtedly a walking inspiration for people who tend to have a negative outlook on life. The fashion icon has enjoyed life to her fullest and has reflected the same principles in many of her quotes as well.“My father told me once not to expect anything from anybody so I wouldn’t be disappointed. If somebody was nice and did nice things for me, I should be overjoyed, but I shouldn’t go through life expecting it, which is very good advice.““I don’t have any rules, because I would only be breaking them, so it’s a waste of time.““Life is gray and dull; you might as well have a little fun when you dress.““Being well-dressed is a wonderful thing, but I don’t think it should be life threatening.““You only have one trip, and the present is all you’ve got…There is definitely no road map. Embrace its glamour. Enjoy its mystery. Be open to the unexpected. Stop asking why. And remember that…in wonder it ends…““Creativity is down the tube. And people give a lot of lip service to individuality. I know they all appreciate it, but they all say they would like to do it, but they don’t want to work at it, and it doesn’t come out of the sky.““To me there are lots more important things in the world than just having the right shoes!““You’ve got to try it. You’ve only got one trip, you have to remember that.““You don’t find out who you are unless you work at it.““You have to be interested. If you’re not interested, you can’t be interesting.““I’m not going to be a rebel and offend anybody, but I’m not going to live in somebody else’s image.““Technology is a wonderful thing, but I think it’s violently misused.““Shock is terrible. But what you’ve got to do is live in the present, which is what I have always done.““I don’t expect to find inspiration. It just sort of comes. Sometimes you step on a bug and you get inspired.““Self-exploration is very painful, but unless you do that, you will never know who you are and who you want to be.““I think people try so hard to learn everything that they miss all the wonderful essentials. There is so much mystery in life that you should leave a mystery.““Nothing I ever did I expected to do. It just kind of happened.““You can be born with the talent to be an opera star, but you’ve got to work and practice it.““To lead the good life in New York, the two most important things for a woman are a chauffeur and a fur-lined raincoat.““I never expect anything. I just feel things in my gut and I do them. If something sounds exciting and interesting, I do it—and then I worry about it later.““Whatever happened to the cultivation of an inner self? It’s painful and it’s work, but it always pays off.““I’m a great believer in common sense, and the older I get I see that common sense is not that common.”

Born on August 29, 1921, in Queens, New York, United States, Iris Apfel was in the textile business from 1950-1992 with her husband.