The capital of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, also known as Philly, is the second-most populated city in the Northeast after New York City.It is also the sixth-most populated metropolis in the United States. The Delaware Valley, the seventh-biggest metropolitan area in the country and the 35th largest worldwide, and Philadelphia County, the most populated region in Pennsylvania, have had the same boundary lines as the metropolis since 1854.In 1682, English Quaker William Penn established Philadelphia. When Pennsylvania was a British colony, the town functioned as its capital. Afterward, in Philadelphia, in 1987, at the Philadelphia Convention, the United States Constitution was approved. Philadelphia developed into a significant American industrial powerhouse and railroad center in the 19th and 20th centuries. European migrants mainly from Ireland and Germany were drawn to the city by its manufacturing jobs, the two most significant communities in the Philadelphia region as of 2015.Amid the Great Migration that followed the Civil War, Philadelphia rose significantly since the beginning of the 20th century as a popular place for African-Americans. Many Puerto Ricans moved to the city throughout World Wars I and II as well as in the years following the conflict. Here are some Philadelphia quotes compiled to know this great city that might make you feel a little of the Philly mood with its trove of creative riches.Famous Philadelphia QuotesHere’s what some famous personalities had to say about Philly.“Nothing has gotten me out of Philadelphia. I moved 20 minutes away from Philly. That’s about it.” - Jill Scott.“That bumper sticker everyone has down in Philadelphia, the one that says, ‘Only the Lord saves more than Bernie Parent,’ really isn’t true. God couldn’t have made all the saves that Parent made against us.” - Jerry Korab.“Pennsylvania is Philadelphia and Pittsburgh with Alabama in between.” - James Carville.“But I’m interested in the Barnes Collection in Philadelphia. I hear there are some of the worst Matisses there. I like seeing bad art by good artists. It’s inspiring. I’m able to identify with them. It makes them real.” - Jemima Kirke.“People in Philadelphia are a world apart from New York. They’re very different from people in the New York scene. The New York scene wants your visibility and wants your money.” - John Gutfreund.“Comcast began their tradition of volunteer service in 1997 when Comcast employees and their families participated in the Philadelphia Cares Day.” - Jim Gerlach.“It’s well known that I interviewed with Philadelphia last winter, and I’d like to manage again.” - Jim Leyland.“In those days, slavery was not looked upon, even in Quaker Philadelphia, with the shudder and abhorrence one feels towards it now.” - John Sergeant Wise.“In the year 1857, passing through Washington on our return from the annual visit to Philadelphia, I had the distinguished honor of visiting a President for the first time.” - John Sergeant Wise.“The Constitution was written by 55 educated and highly intelligent men in Philadelphia in 1787, but it was written so that it could be understood by people of limited education and modest intelligence.” - John Jay Hooker.“The first play I did was ‘Philadelphia Here I Come.’ Can you imagine that? I am 37 years old I am doing my second professional play and I am on stage with John Malkovich. Joan Allen, Laurie Metcalf and Gary Sinise. One huge name after another. I was terrified and petrified, could hardly get a word out of my mouth.” - John Mahoney.“Some of the best cooks that I’ve cooked with, whether it’s in New York or Chicago or even here in Philadelphia, are actually Ecuadorians. And there’s something about their palates that really just inspires me, and has a really deep sense of flavor.” - Jose Garces.“Brooklyn was like Philadelphia made better by its proximity to Manhattan.” - Jonathan Franzen.“If you grow up in the South Bronx today or in south-central Los Angeles or Pittsburgh or Philadelphia, you quickly come to understand that you have been set apart and that there’s no will in this society to bring you back into the mainstream.” - Jonathan Kozol.“My first gig was in Philadelphia and I played the drums for my older brothers. That same night, I also played drums for Martha and the Vandellas. Ah, the fond memories of being 14.” - Ernie Isley.“My mother was a Northern woman, daughter of Hon. John Sergeant, a distinguished lawyer, and for many years representative in Congress from Philadelphia.” - John Sergeant Wise.Philadelphia Quotes From Pop CultureSome more quotes on Philadelphia that are relevant to the times and a trove of creative riches.“The streets are safe in Philadelphia. It’s only the people who make them unsafe.” – Frank Rizzo.“Philadelphia is the only city, where you can experience the thrill of victory and the agony of reading about it the next day.” - Mike Schmidt.“Politics in Philadelphia is a contact sport.” - Michael Nutter.“Actually, Magic and the Lakers beat Philadelphia for Magic’s first NBA Championship.” - Oscar Robertson.“To play today in London, next week in Madrid and the week after that in Warsaw is a bit better than playing Newark and Baltimore and Philadelphia. I’ve been doing that for 20 years.” - Norman Granz.“At my growing years of 18 to 21 years old in the Minor Leagues, I dreamed of being a Philadelphia Phillie.” - Ryne Sandberg.“The whole American pop culture started in Philadelphia with American Bandstand and the music that came out of that city.” - Daryl Hall.“I always say Philadelphia, Pennsylvania is my biggest influence. But for painters, I like many, many painters, but I love Francis Bacon the most, and Edward Hopper.” - David Lynch.“‘The Philadelphia Story’ is one of my favorite movies, as is ‘Bringing Up Baby.’” - Abigail Spencer.“Teller and I worked Renaissance Festivals and street performing - actually more real, no kidding around, Philadelphia street performing than we did Renaissance Festivals.” - Penn Jillette.“In Philadelphia, our public safety, poverty reduction, health, and economic development all start with education. We can’t grow the middle class if we don’t give our kids the tools they need to innovate and invent.” - Michael Nutter.“Three-quarters of the East Coast’s refinery capability is located in the Philadelphia region.” - Robert Brady.“John Huston was a superb master. He knew how to make good films. I did three things with him. One is called Independence. It plays in Philadelphia, for free. It’s been playing there for 25 years.” - Eli Wallach.“Whether it’s on the streets of Philadelphia or New York or Chicago or Atlanta or in a classroom in Newtown, Connecticut, people want to be safe.” - Michael Nutter.“Philadelphia loves its team, and being able to win a World Series for the city, fans, players and our Phillies organization meant so much to me.” - Pat Gillick.Philadelphia Quotes For Instagram CaptionsHere are some Philadelphia quotes that can make good Instagram captions with some stunning photos.“You’re my Philly Special."“Philadelphia reflected the national turmoil over race and the Vietnam War, often exploding on my watch.” - Andrea Mitchell.“Welcome to the City of Brotherly Love."“New York is a place where people go to reinvent themselves; Philadelphia is a place where people discover who they are.” - Chef Peter McAndrews.“I don’t have many friends in Philadelphia. I sort of have one. I have the dog and someone else.” - Buzz Bissinger.“We’re neighborhood people. And that’s what Philly is: neighborhoods. That’s why this all works.” - ‘Philadelphia Magazine’.“I think Philadelphia has been underrated over the years as a musical region.” - Daryl Hall.“I love the dignity in the name Philadelphia, but at heart, we’re Philly.” - Lisa Scottoline.“The Philadelphia Museum of Art is a house of artistic and intellectual prostitution.” - Albert C. Barnes.“Philly cheesesteak and a cheesecake. I’m ready for my cheat day.““Just a girl who loves Philadelphia."“Oh Philadelphia freedom, shine on me, I love you.” - Elton John.“From the floor, I see the tops of the Philadelphia skyline out of her window. Staring at it, I realize that the night sky isn’t really black, which is the way I’ve always thought of it. It’s actually a dark shade of blue, the darkest possible.” - Siobhan Vivian.Funny Quotes About PhiladelphiaHere are some Philly quotes that will make you laugh.“I’d like to see Paris before I die… Philadelphia will do.” - W. C. Fields.“I know it’s cheesy, but I love Philadelphia.““Phil in the Blank.““Philly rings my bell.““I think Philly cheesesteaks are really grate.““Enjoying life one Philly cheesesteak at a time No, of course, I didn’t come all the way to Philly just for a cheesesteak… Philly is the best!““This Philly cheesesteak was definitely not a mis-steak! Hi Philly, nice to meet ya!““Dear Philly, you’re my absolute favorite."“Oh, baby come down, I want to hold you now, I’m in a Philly mood.” - Daryl Hall.“Things got real cheesesteaky when I moved to Philadelphia.““Its always sunny in Philadelphia."“I once spent a year in Philadelphia, I think it was on Sunday.” - W C Fields.“I want to be in Philly for the rest of my life.” - Joel Embiid.“There was never any animosity from the Philly fans.” - Donovan McNabb.“I would rather be here in the Philly Hall of Fame than the NBA Hall of Fame.” - Rasheed Wallace.

The capital of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, also known as Philly, is the second-most populated city in the Northeast after New York City.