Goodnight is a greeting that is usually used before a person retires to sleep.Sending goodnight messages has been a custom and tradition for ages. Goodnight messages and texts are usually positive in nature.It is customary to wish someone goodnight as it can serve as a relief to them after a hard, tiring day. Over years exchanging goodnight texts and messages has become an integral part of our social custom. If you are having a tiring day, read these quotes and they will bring a smile on your face.If you like this, check out goodnight quotes and sweet good night quotes.‍Lullaby QuotesHere are some of the best and cute lullaby quotes to sing to tiny tots to make them fall asleep.1.“When the night wind starts to sing a lonesome lullaby, it helps to think we’re sleeping underneath the same big sky.”- Linda Ronstadt, ‘Somewhere Out There’.2. “Sleep baby sleepThe day’s on the runThe wind in the treesIs talking in tongues.”- Leonard Cohen, ‘Lullaby’.3. “Close your eyes and I’ll close mineGood night sleep tightNow the moon begins to shineGood night sleep tight.”- The Beatles, ‘Goodnight’.4. “There’s a land that I heard ofOnce in a lullabySomewhere over the rainbowSkies are blueAnd the dreams that you dare to dreamReally do come true.”- ‘Somewhere Over The Rainbow’, ‘The Wizard Of Oz’.5. “Feeling tiredBy the fireThe long day is overThe wind is goneAsleep at dawnThe embers burn on.”- Jesse Harris, Nora Jones, ‘The Long Day Is Over’.6. “Rock-a-bye babyOn the tree tops,When the wind blowsThe cradle will rock.”- English Rhyme.7. “I hate to leave you, but I really must say,Goodnight, sweetheart, goodnight.”- ‘Three Men And A Baby’.8. “Twinkle, twinkle, little star, How I wonder what you are! Up above the world so high, Like a diamond in the sky!”- ‘The Alphabet Song’.9. “Let the rain beat upon your head with silver liquid drops. Let the rain sing you a lullaby.”- Langston Hughes, ‘Sail Away’.Funny Goodnight Quotes From CardsEnlisted below are some of the funny good night quotes. Since these quotes are usually found in greeting cards the source is unknown but we think they’re great quotes and would like you to read them - if you know where they’re from please let us know! You will also find cute ways to wish goodnight to friends or a family member.10. “Well it is the end of the day, thank you Lord I have run out of gas, I want to say you goodnight till morning light.”- Unknown.*11. “You are the only reason I got sleep every night, I love you very much and also your scary faces that haunts my dreams. Good Nigh my dear ghost! Stop haunting and go to sleep.”- Unknown.*12. “If time does not wait for you, do not be worried. Just remove the battery from the clock and enjoy life. Good Night.”- Unknown.*13. “Welcome to Sweet Dreams airlines. We’ll be shortly arriving at Dreamland. Fasten blankets, puff the pillow, close your eyes and get ready to doze off! Good Night!”- Unknown.*14. “If you feel lonely don’t worry. I am here to disturb you all the time. Now sleep well. Good night dear. Have a wonderful scary dream!”- Unknown.*15. “The quietness of this beautiful night reminds me of you. How can I sleep peacefully at this night without disturbing you?”- Unknown.*16. “Now 4.7 million people are going to sleep, 2.5 million are dreaming, 1.3 million are watching TV. But one cutie is reading my sweet jokes, good night!”- Unknown.*17. “Hey, I just had a phone call from your bed because it could not reach you. Please contact your cold bed and the lonely pillows right now! And sleep tight!”- Unknown.*18. “Don’t waste thinking about your lost past, Don’t waste time for planning your future, Better kill some mosquito with that time So that you can sleep better. Good Night.”- Unknown.*19. “Good night sweetheart! Don’t look at the window at night. Also, don’t look under the bed! Just kidding! Have a sweet dream my love.”- Unknown.*Funny Goodnight Texts For HimHere are some of the finest goodnight quotes and funny sleep quotes.20. “I’m sending angels like me to come watch you sleep and guide you, I just hope they won’t be disturbed by your loud snores. Goodnight my prince!”- Unknown.*21. “Even if the size of your bed is not as big as you, do not stop yourself from dreaming king size. Good night. Sleep tight.”- Unknown.*22. “It is my pleasure to reach out to a very handsome guy like you who could fight for me when I was in trouble - sorry, have you treated your swollen nose? I love you. Good night”- Unknown.*23. “I hope your dreams are filled with visits from the prettiest & loveliest angels. But don’t make it a habit because I’m not free every night.”- Unknown.*24. “Hi love, it’s time to get to bed and take some rest. Remember not to take rest from the rest. Just give your body some time to rest but your heart shouldn’t take a rest from me. Goodnight!”- Unknown.*25. “Hi sir, yes, you, the handsome one, how are you tonight? Hi reply, are you asleep? No? Then get back to bed and get some rest. Goodnight!”- Unknown.*26. “Hi handsome, the night is made for rest, not text. Though am breaking the rule to just send you a goodnight message before I throw my cell phone away. Goodnight!”- Unknown.*27. “Do you have bedbugs in your house? If yes, press one, we will suffer the same issue the whole night. Have a good night handsome!”- Unknown. *Funny Goodnight Texts For HerEnlisted below are some funny good night quotes for her along with some hilarious goodnight quotes and funny good night messages.28. “Sleepy text from a sleepy boyfriend to a sleepy girlfriend at a sleepy time on a sleepy day, in a sleepy mood to say sleep tight my dear goodnight.”- Unknown. *29. “My angel, your cold empty bed is whining loudly because the pillows cannot fall asleep without you. Please join them soon and have sweet dreams!”- Unknown. *30. “Hey babe, you’re the prettiest girl in the world in my eyes but I don’t want you to get dark circles around your eyes! Sleep tight love!”- Unknown. *31. “If you can’t find sleep and you are always peeping on the phone to chat, just switch it off and enjoy your sleep. Good Night.”- Unknown. *32. “This message is full of hugs. Hold it tight to receive. Wishing you a sweet night, Good tight!”- Unknown. *33. “Is there any girlfriend who is funnier than you, I don’t think so. As you go to sleep have the sweetest dreams and enjoy your night. Sleep tight!”- Unknown. *34. *You haunt me every night because I see you in my dreams all the time. I wish a lovely night to my darling filled with the sweetest dreams."- Unknown. *35. “If you feel a little bored, a little sick, a little lost, a little sad, you know what’s wrong? Your suffering from lack of Vitamin Me! Good Night!”- Unknown. *Funny Goodnight QuotesIn this category you will the funny good night quotes along with funny sweet dreams quotes. Here are some unique goodnight quotes to make someone fall asleep along with some good night humor and funny good night messages.36. “To hearts which near each other moveFrom evening close to morning light,The night is good; because, my love,They never say good-night.”- Percy Bysshe Shelley.37. “No human being can achieve all he or she desires in this life except in dreams, so good night all.”- Jose Saramago.38. “For the wretched one night is like a thousand; for someone faring well death is just one more night.”- Sophocles.39. “Goodnight stars Goodnight airGoodnight noises everywhere."-Margaret Wise Brown, ‘Goodnight Moon’.40. “Good night, sweet prince, may flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.”- William Shakespeare.41. “I think the best way to get a good night sleep is to work hard throughout the day. If you work hard and, of course, work out."– William H. McRaven.42. “Any fool knows that bravado is always a cover-up for insecurity. That’s the truth. And on that note, I’ll say goodnight. God love you.”- Bobby Darin.43. “Good night and have a pleasant tomorrow.”- Jane Curtin.44. “Good night, then - sleep to gather strength for the morning. For the morning will come.”- Winston Churchill.45. “Music is love, love is music, music is life, and I love my life. Thank you and good night."– A. J. McLean.46. “Good-night! good-night! as we so oft have said Beneath this roof at midnight, in the daysThat are no more, and shall no more return.Thou hast but taken up thy lamp and gone to bed; I stay a little longer, as one staysTo cover up the embers that still burn.”- Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.47. “I just want to say, good night, sweet prince, may flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.”- Harry Dean Stanton.48. “Good night, dear Heart, Good night, good night.”- Mark Twain.49. “Sleep, my Bella, dream happy dreams, you are the only one who has ever touched my heart, it will forever be yours.”- Stephenie Meyer.50. “But though first love’s impassioned blindness Has passed away in colder light, I still have thought of you with kindness, And shall do, till our last goodnight. The ever-rolling silent hours Will bring a time we shall not know, When our young days of gathering flowers Will be an hundred years ago.”- Thomas Love Peacock.51. “Never let the darkness or negativity outside affect your inner self. Just wait until morning comes and the bright light will drown out the darkness.”- Haruki Murakami.52. “I love the silent hour of night,For blissful dreams may then arise,Revealing to my charmed sight –What may not bless my waking eyes."– Anne Brontë.53. “Each night, when I go to sleep, I die. And the next morning, when I wake up, I am reborn.”- Mahatma Gandhi.54. “My idea of a good night out is staying in."– Martin Freeman.55. “The days are cold, the nights are long,The North wind sings a doleful song;Then hush again upon my breast;All merry things are now at rest,Save thee, my pretty love!”- Dorothy Wordsworth.56. “Good night, good night! Parting is such sweet sorrow, that I shall say good night till it be morrow.”- William Shakespeare, ‘Romeo And Juliet’.57. “I was walking along and this chair came flying past me, and another, and another, and I thought, man, is this going to be a good night."– Liam Gallagher.58. “Adieu! ’tis love’s last greeting,The parting hour is come!And fast thy soul is fleetingTo seek its starry home.”- Pierre-Jean de Beranger.59. “To all, to each, a fair good-night, and pleasing dreams, and slumbers light.”- Walter Scott, ‘The Poetical Works Of Walter Scott’.60. “Sleeping is no mean art: for its sake one must stay awake all day.”- Friedrich Nietzsche.Here at Kidadl, we have carefully created lots of interesting family-friendly quotes for everyone to enjoy! If you liked our suggestions for funny goodnight quotes then why not take a look at beautiful bedtime quotes, or funny morning quotes?*Do you know where this quote originated? Please email us to let us know at [email protected]

Goodnight is a greeting that is usually used before a person retires to sleep.