Elijah Eugene Cummings, a Congressman, was a well-known American politician and civil rights advocate from Baltimore.He was born in Baltimore in January 1951. He served as US Representative from 1996 to 17 October 2019.Elijah Cummings, a member of the Congress from Baltimore,  was known best for his fiery political advocacy and quotes. In many quotes,  he said he was passionate about defending democratic principles and was vocal about them. His wife, Joyce Cummings, was also from Baltimore. This article has some interesting Elijah Cummings quotes that you will love. If you are looking for inspirational quotes then these Elijah Cummings inspirational quotes will serve you well.If you like our Elijah Cummings quotes article, do check out out Ella Baker quotes and Civil Rights Quotes. Famous Elijah Cummings QuotesHere are some  popular Elijah Cummings quotes you may like. These are some marvelous inspirational quotes by Cummings that can help fuel you up for the day.1. “Our children are the living messages we send to a future we will never see… Will we rob them of their destiny? Will we rob them of their dreams? No - we will not do that.”- Elijah Cummings.2. “Our decisions about transportation determine much more than where roads or bridges or tunnels or rail lines will be built. They determine the connections and barriers that people will encounter in their daily lives - and thus how hard or easy it will be for people to get where they need and want to go.”- Elijah Cummings.3. “My life is based on pain, passion, and purpose.”- Elijah Cummings.4. “Did we stand on the sidelines and say nothing?”- Elijah Cummings.5. “I think it’s important for industry to do well. But I want them to do well and do good at the same time.”- Elijah Cummings.6. “When I became a lawyer, no one asked me if I had spent some time in special ed. All they wanted was a good lawyer.”- Elijah Cummings.7. “I try to remind people that there are a lot of good people, all colors. Then there’s some bad ones, too. But there’s a lot of good people who really care.”- Elijah Cummings.8. “I have a moral conscience that is real central.”- Elijah Cummings.9. “Most people who are hating on you, they are not worried about where you are. They’re worried about where you’re going.”- Elijah Cummings.10. “I’m going to do what feeds my soul.”- Elijah Cummings.Elijah Cummings Speech QuotesHere are many inspirational quotes from Baltimore native, Cummings.11. “You must have confidence in your competence.”- Elijah Cummings.12. “Tweets are not enough. We need real action and meaningful reform.”- Elijah Cummings.13. “My mom and dad, although they may not have had a lot of formal education, they were two of the most brilliant people that I know.”- Elijah Cummings.14. “It is a new day in our city, let the wheels of justice begin to roll.”- Elijah Cummings.15. “Any little thing can spark the situation to get out of hand and we cannot afford that, we’re better than that.”- Elijah Cummings.16. “People want transparency in government.”- Elijah Cummings.17. “Every time something bad happens to me, I don’t ask the question, ‘Why did it happen to me?’ The question I ask is, ‘Why did it happen for me?’”- Elijah Cummings.18. “Yes, you’ve got people dying. Come on now, I think we have a real need to do whatever is necessary to save lives.”- Elijah Cummings.19. “Normally, my first impression would have been this is not good, but I have come around.’- Elijah Cummings.20. “When you see the destruction, you’ve also got to realize there’s pain, there’s pain behind a lot of this.”- Elijah Cummings.Elijah Cummings Baltimore QuotesHere are some Baltimore Elijah Cummings quotes. These inspirational quotes will really make you a fan of the man.21. “The same little boys that bullied me, the same ones that beat me up, they became my clients.”- Elijah Cummings.22. “Most of my problems stem from trying to pursue my dream of starting and maintaining my law firm.”- Elijah Cummings.23. “Being in business for yourself when you’re poor and black is extremely difficult. You’re not going to get the credit from the banks the others will get.”- Elijah Cummings.24. “When you have limited resources, what you try to do is stretch those resources.”- Elijah Cummings.25. “I’ve told people many times that it’s not whether you will have difficulties. The question is how you deal with them.”- Elijah Cummings.26. “Whatever it is that you believe is stopping you from being all you can be, you need to change that right now.”- Elijah Cummings.27. “We must also stop the hateful incendiary comments, we got to do it.”- Elijah Cummings.28. “I want justice, oceans of it. I want fairness, rivers of it. That’s all I want..”- Elijah Cummings.29. “To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else - means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.”- Elijah Cummings.30. “Education is a passport to future opportunity, and I encourage every student to invest in their learning.”- Elijah Cummings.Powerful Elijah Cummings QuotesHere are some Elijah Cummings quotes that many believe in.31. “The hard-working men and women that make up our nation’s workforce are our greatest resource.”- Elijah Cummings.32. “Every day, I wake up with one goal: to make sure our children and generations yet unborn will reach their God-given potential—and that the future we are creating is a brighter one for every child.”- Elijah Cummings.33. “Music can bring life to life and heal our emotional wounds.”- Elijah Cummings.34. “Those in the highest levels of the government must stop invoking fear, using racist language and encouraging reprehensible behavior.”- Elijah Cummings.35. “Voting is our democratic right, & allows us to control our destiny.”- Elijah Cummings.36. “You have to understand – I come from a neighborhood where ‘The Wire’ was filmed.”- Elijah Cummings.37. “I’m here for a season and a reason. I don’t know why I’m here, I don’t know how long I’ll be here, but I’m here. And I’m going to make the best of it.”- Elijah Cummings.38. “You are my sun, my moon and all of my stars.’- Elijah Cummings.39. “For me, I am in the twilight years, but I am telling you we will not rest, we will not rest until we address this and see that justice is done.”- Elijah Cummings.40. “God has called me to this moment. I did not ask for it.”- Elijah Cummings.Inspirational Elijah Cummings QuotesHere are some inspirational quotes by Elijah Cummings, and quotes about Elijah Cummings.41. “Never forget the bridge that brought you over.”- Elijah Cummings.42. “My mission is one that comes out of a vision that was created long, long ago. It is a mission and a vision to empower people — to make people realize that the power is within them and that they too can do the things they want to do.”- Elijah Cummings.43. “I only have a minute, 60 seconds in it, forced upon me I did not choose, but I know that I must use it, give account if I abuse it, suffer if I lose it. Only a tiny little minute but an eternity is in it.”- Elijah Cummings.44. “We are better than this. We really are. As a country, we are so much better than this.”- Elijah Cummings.45. “If I hear you correctly, it sounds like you’re crying out for a new normal — for us getting back to normal.”- Elijah Cummings.46. “The innovation coming from student entries always amazes me.”- Elijah Cummings.47. “They are not refugees. I hate that word.”- Elijah Cummings.48. “It gives a sense to the world that they are trying to be sure that they’re involved in the inclusion revolution.”- Elijah Cummings.49. “By providing students in our Nation with such an education, we help save our children from the clutches of poverty, crime, drugs, and hopelessness, and we help safeguard our Nation’s prosperity for generations yet unborn.”- Elijah Cummings.50. “When we’re dancing with the angels, the question will be asked, in 2019, what did we do to make sure we kept our democracy intact?”- Elijah Cummings.51. “I think we are in a very difficult time in this country’s history and I’m begging the American people to pay attention to what’s going on.”- Elijah Cummings.52. “My father was a great inspiration to me. He taught us nothing was impossible, despite his limited education. He spent his life believing in education and emphasized that we had to be in school every day.”- Elijah Cummings.53. “My mother was one of the smartest, most thoughtful and loving people I have ever known. She created a home for me, my dad and my six siblings where God was at the center and love overflowed.”- Elijah Cummings.54. “I don’t want anybody to be confused that the issue of police and community is one part of a broader set of issues. Our children need to be properly educated. They need to be trained so that they can get jobs and be functional.”- Elijah Cummings.55. “I’m begging the American people to pay attention to what is going on.”- Elijah Cummings.Here at Kidadl, we have carefully created lots of interesting family-friendly quotes for everyone to enjoy! If you liked our suggestions for Elijah Cummings quotes, then why not take a look at Fannie Lou Hamer quotes and Rosa Parks quotes.

Elijah Eugene Cummings, a Congressman, was a well-known American politician and civil rights advocate from Baltimore.