“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” Correctly said by Marcus Cicero, only readers would understand the importance of books in life. Books are considered as the best source of information and knowledge.National Book Lovers Day, celebrated on 9 August every year, celebrates every book lover that there is. Even though the world is embracing technology in every field, simple joys like the enjoyment of reading a book can never be replaced in life.For most book lovers who love reading and are never without books, the smell of a book is a sort of craving for them. Bibliosmia runs through them. If you are one such reader who enjoys bibliophilism and also hangs around libraries, delighting in the scent and feel of the covers, then here are some of the great quotes for book lovers. Make sure you also check our articles on Alice Walker quotes and Toni Morrison quotes when you finish with this one.Best Quotes For Book Lovers‍Books are indeed an escape for most readers. Great authors ensure that we enjoy the journey in the book like them. No wonder libraries were often found at one’s house in the early days. Here are some of the best quotes for book lovers if you are a bookworm.1. “Books were safer than other people anyway.”- Neil Gaiman, ‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’.2. “Why is it that people who wouldn’t dream of stealing anything else think it’s perfectly all right to steal books?”― Helene Hanff, ‘84, Charing Cross Road’.3. “Any room in our house at any time in the day was there to read in or to be read to.”― Eudora Welty.4. “I grabbed my book and opened it up. I wanted to smell it. Heck, I wanted to kiss it. Yes, kiss it. That’s right, I am a book kisser. Maybe that’s kind of perverted, or maybe it’s just romantic and highly intelligent.”― Sherman Alexie, ‘The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian’.5. “The world was hers for the reading.”-Betty Smith.6. “A book is a dream that you hold in your hand.”― Neil Gaiman.7. “I do believe something very magical can happen when you read a good book.”-J. K. Rowling.8. “The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”- Jane Austen, ‘Northanger Abbey’.9. “Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them.”- Lemony Snicket, ‘Horseradish’.10. “But for my own part, if a book is well-written, I always find it too short.”- Jane Austen.11. “Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”- John Green, ‘The Fault in Our Stars’.12. “If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.”- Oscar Wilde.13. “Oh, magic hour, when a child first knows she can read printed words.”― Betty Smith.14.  “My problem is that while other people are reading fifty books I’m reading one book fifty times. I only stop when at the bottom of page 20, say, I realize I can recite pages 21 and 22 from memory. Then I put the book away for a few years.”- Helene Hanff.Famous Quotes About BooksClassic authors have often made an impact on people’s lives. Read on to find some of the famous book quotes by great authors, including funny book lover quotes, that will inspire you to read at least one book more.15. “Reading is one form of escape. Running for your life is another.”― Lemony Snicket.16. “It is what you read when you don’t have to that determines what you will be when you can’t help it.”- Oscar Wilde.17. “Many people, myself among them, feel better at the mere sight of a book.”- Jane Smiley, ‘13 Ways Of Looking At The Novel’.18. “If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book.”— J.K. Rowling.19. “Great books help you understand, and they help you feel understood”.– John Green.20. “Wicked people never have time for reading. It’s one of the reasons for their wickedness.”― Lemony Snicket.21. “In old days books were written by men of letters and read by the public. Nowadays books are written by the public and read by nobody”.– Oscar Wilde.22. “All the secrets of the world are contained in books. Read at your own risk.”― Lemony Snicket.23. “Books are like mirrors: if a fool looks in, you cannot expect a genius to look out”.– J.K. Rowling.24. “Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.”– Neil Gaiman.25. “That’s the thing about books. They let you travel without moving your feet.”- Jhumpa Lahiri.26. “I do love secondhand books that open to the page some previous owner read oftenest. The day Hazlitt came he opened to “I hate to read new books,” and I hollered “Comrade!” to whoever owned it before me.”-Helene Hanff.27. “Books are mirrors. You only see in them what you already have inside you”-Carlos Ruiz Zafón.28. “I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of anything than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”– Jane Austen, ‘Pride and Prejudice’.29. “Look at everything as though you were seeing it either for the first or the last time.”― Betty Smith.30. “Standing there, staring at the long shelves crammed with books, I felt myself relax and was suddenly at peace.”-Helene Hanff.31. “A good library will never be too neat, or too dusty, because somebody will always be in it, taking books off the shelves and staying up late reading them.”– Lemony Snicket, ‘Horseradish’.32. “Is there no way out of the mind?”― Sylvia Plath.33. “Yes, when I get big and have my own home, no plush chairs and lace curtains for me. And no rubber plants. I’ll have a desk … and white walls and … and a golden-brown bowl with a flower or some leaves or berries always in it and books . . . books . . . books. . . .”― Betty Smith.J. K. Rowling Quotes‍J.K. Rowling, a renowned author, writes not only for the young generation but also for adults who are always reading. Below mentioned are many quotes about reading and books that you will love to share with your friends.34. “Wherever I am, if I’ve got a book with me, I have a place I can go and be happy.”— J.K. Rowling.35. “I will defend the importance of bedtime stories to my last gasp."— J.K. Rowling.36. “If it’s a good book, anyone will read it. I’m totally unashamed about still reading things I loved in my childhood.”- J.K. Rowling.37. “Read a lot. Reading really helps. Read anything you can get your hands on.”- J. K. Rowling.38. “Read as much as you possibly can. Nothing will help you as much as reading and you’ll go through a phase where you will imitate your favorite writers and that’s fine because that’s a learning experience too.”- J.K. Rowling.39. “It was on the corner of the street that he noticed the first sign of something peculiar - a cat reading a map.”- J.K. Rowling, ‘Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone’.40. “The best way to get children excited about reading is to read to them from the beginning of their lives.”— J.K. Rowling.41. “This is not about money or anything other than the pleasure of reading for people who want to read it.”— J.K. Rowling.42. “I think it is the books that you read when you’re young that live with you forever.”― J.K. Rowling.Sylvia Plath QuotesAn author and a great poet from America, Sylvia was a huge bibliophile. Her quotes about life and love are relatable for every lover of books, words and the library in the universe.  43. “And I identify too closely with my reading, with my writing.”― Sylvia Plath.44. “Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences.”― Sylvia Plath.45. “And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.”― Sylvia Plath.46. “So much working, reading, thinking, living to do. A lifetime is not long enough.”― Sylvia Plath.47. “I can never read all the books I want; I can never be all the people I want and live all the lives I want.”― Sylvia Plath, ‘The Unabridged Journals of Sylia Plath’.Carlos Ruiz Zafón QuotesWriter of the famous novel ‘The Shadow of the Wind’, this Spanish novelist’s admiration and love for books is evident from his many quotes that are mentioned below. These quotes will resonate with bookworms and you might be able to think of many similar moments where you have felt this same love for books.48. “I was raised among books, making invisible friends in pages that seemed cast from dust and whose smell I carry on my hands to this day.”- Carlos Ruiz Zafón.49. “Every book, every volume you see here, has a soul. The soul of the person who wrote it and of those who read it and lived and dreamed with it. Every time a book changes hands, every time someone runs his eyes down its pages, its spirit grows and strengthens.”- Carlos Ruiz Zafón.50. “I leafed through the pages, inhaling the enchanted scent of promise that comes with all new books, and stopped to read the start of a sentence that caught my eye.”- Carlos Ruiz Zafón.51. “I had never known the pleasure of reading, of exploring the recesses of the soul, of letting myself be carried away by imagination, beauty, and the mystery of fiction and language. For me, all those things were born with that novel.”- Carlos Ruiz Zafón.52. “In the shop, we buy and sell them, but in truth, books have no owner. Every book you see here has been somebody’s best friend.”- Carlos Ruiz Zafón.53. “It’s up to you how you waste your time and money. I’m staying here to read: life’s too short.”- Carlos Ruiz Zafón.54. “Books hold no passports. There’s only one true literary tradition: the human.”- Carlos Ruiz Zafon.55. “Few things leave a deeper mark on the reader, than the first book that finds its way to his heart.”- Carlos Ruiz Zafon.Here at Kidadl, we have carefully created lots of interesting family-friendly quotes for everyone to enjoy! If you liked our suggestions for 55 quotes for book lovers, then why not take a look at ‘The Alchemist’ quotes, or Zadie Smith quotes.

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” Correctly said by Marcus Cicero, only readers would understand the importance of books in life. Books are considered as the best source of information and knowledge.