Keith Allen Haring was an artist who manifested his social activism through his creative expression. Keith Haring’s work responded to the ’80s New York City street culture that portrayed notions of life, mortality, love, and violence. His artwork’s symbolisms were distinctly political; they developed into an artistic style of the past century.Find inspiration from these quotes by Keith Haring about art.Keith Haring Art Quotes(Keith Haring Quotes about how the objective of art is to cleanse our spirits of the grime of mundane existence.)These quotes have the power to both freeze a point in time and evoke strong feelings in us.“The act of creation is a kind of ritual. The origins of art and human existence lie hidden in this mystery of creation.““Drawing is still basically the same as it has been since prehistoric times. It brings together man and the world.““The public has a right to art… Art is for everybody”.“The reality of art begins with the eyes of the beholder, through imagination, invention and confrontation.““Art should be something that liberates the soul, provokes the imagination and encourages people to go further.““Red is one of the strongest colors, it’s blood, it has a power with the eye. That’s why traffic lights are red………. . In fact I use red in all of my paintings.““The best reason to paint is that there is no reason to paint… .““My contribution to the world is my ability to draw. I will draw as much as I can for as many people as I can for as long as I can.““Jean Michel Basquiat was one of my main inspirations for doing graffiti.““You don’t have to know anything about art to appreciate it or to look at it. There aren’t any hidden secrets or things that you’re supposed to understand.“Keith Haring Journals’ QuotesRead these expressions to understand Keith Haring’s love for art.“Art is the only sensible primal response to an outlook of possible destruction (obliteration).““Nothing is important… so everything is important.““I am intrigued with the shapes people choose as their symbols to create a language. There is within all forms a basic structure, an indication of the entire object with a minimum of lines that becomes a symbol.““Pure art exists only on the level of instant response to pure life.““I have been enlightened. I have fallen into poetry and it has swallowed me up. ““Good and Evil are very hard to explain or understand. I’m sure that evil exists, but it is hard to isolate…… . They are not completely opposites and in fact are often one and the same.““Art has no meaning because it has many meanings, infinite meanings. Art is different for every individual, and is definable only by the given individual. ““The viewer creates the reality, the meaning, the conception of the piece. I am merely a middleman trying to bring ideas together.““I don’t really know exactly what I want to be, but I know what I don’t want to be.““I’m sure that what will live on after I die is important enough to make sacrifices of my personal luxury and leisure time. Work is all I have and art is more important than life.““The public needs art, and it is the responsibility of a ‘self-proclaimed artist’ to realize the public needs art, and not to make bourgeois art for the few and ignore the masses.““I am interested in making art to be experienced and explored by as many individuals as possible with as many different individual ideas about the given piece with no final meaning attached.““People can, however, live their lives with the realization that they are constantly changing, products of their changing environment and changing situations, and time.“Keith Haring’s Expressing Concepts QuotesReading these quotes will help you realize that all artwork is a type of passive confession.“See, when I paint, it is an experience that, at its best, is transcending reality.““Individuality is the enemy of this mass society. Individuality speaks for the individual and makes him a significant factor. Art is individuality.““This transformation of ones self by ones own knowledge is, I think something rather close to the aesthetic experience. Why should a painter work if he is not transformed by his own painting."“Here’s the philosophy behind the Pop Shop: I wanted to continue this same sort of communication as with the subway drawings. I wanted to attract the same wide range of people…..““I grew up in Pennsylvania in a small town. Real small, like one high school and one movie theater.““When it is working, you completely go into another place, you’re tapping into things that are totally universal, completely beyond your ego and your own self.““One day, riding the subway, I saw this empty black panel where an advertisement was supposed to go. I immediately realized that this was the perfect place to draw.” ― August 10, 1989, www. rolling stone.com, interviewed by D. Sheff.“…I think that in a way some [critics] are insulted because I didn’t need them.““Everybody draws when they are little."― ‘New Again: Keith Haring’, August 6, 2013.“This, I feel, is the advantage to creating art at this point in time: When we realize that we are temporary, we are facing our self-destruction, we are realizing our fate and we must confront it.“When I grow up I would like to be an artist in France.““You see that’s why I work like a dog and I worked like a dog all my life. I am not interested in the academic status of what I am doing, because my problem is my own transformation.““I’d like to pretend that I’ve never seen anything, never read anything, never heard anything… and then make something… .““From the time I was little, things would happen that seemed like chance, but they always meant more, so I came to believe there was no such thing as chance.““Children know something that most people have forgotten.“Inspirational Quotes of Keith HaringHere’s more inspirational things said by Keith Haring.“Even if you use your money to help people…that doesn’t make you better than somebody who has no money but is sympathetic and genuinely loving to fellow human beings.““I always have realized that I enjoy to read (and have learned many things from) the biographies of artists whom I admire. It is probably my main source of education.““Whatever you do, the only secret is to believe in it and satisfy yourself. Don’t do it for anyone else."― January 7, 2011, www.lettersofnote.com, ‘Don’t do it for anyone else’.“I am a necessary part of an important search to which there is no end.““Every day when I walk out of the house and feel a warm breeze and look up and see the clouds in the sky, it’s incredible."― August 10, 1989, www. rolling stone.com.“Children are the bearers of life in its simplest and most joyous form.““I am not a beginning. I am not an end. I am a link in a chain.““I make a lot more money than what I should make, so it’s a little bit of guilt, of wanting to give it back.““If I could clone myself, there would still be too much work to do – even if there were five of me.““Art is nothing if you don’t reach every segment of the people”.“If commercialization is putting my art on a shirt so that a kid who can’t afford a $30,000 painting can buy one, then I’m all for it.““People get something from living with a painting. I love living with paintings.““Touching people’s lives in a positive way is as close as I can get to an idea of religion.““When I die there is nobody to take my place.”

Keith Allen Haring was an artist who manifested his social activism through his creative expression.