Jiu-jitsu is one of the forms of modern martial arts with ancient roots.It was originally developed for Japanese Samurai in combat scenarios. Brazilian jiu-jitsu is a predominantly ground-based form of martial arts and is primarily used as a sport.Marcelo Garcia, Marcio Feitosa and Lucas Lepri are some of the famous jiu-jitsu artists. Many notable sporting events have made this art form commercially successful. Here are some of the best jiu-jitsu quotes from notable people to inspire you.If you like this article about jiu-jitsu quotes, you may also want to check our other quotes articles taekwondo quotes and martial arts quotes.‍Best Jiu-Jitsu QuotesHere are some of the best ones and a few Gracie jiu-jitsu quotes.1. “I’ve drilled them so many times, my body just reacts now. I can go out and let instinct take over.”- Keenan Cornelius.2. “In the fight, only one person can be comfortable. Your job is to transfer the comfortable from your opponent to you.”- Rickson Gracie.3. “If you think, you are late. If you are late, you use strength. If you use strength, you tire. And if you tire, you die.”- Saulo Ribeiro.4. “The most interesting aspect of Jiu-Jitsu is…of course the techniques are great…but the sensibility of the opponent, sense of touch, the weight, the momentum, the transition from one movement to another."- Rickson Gracie.5. “Jiu-jitsu is the gentle art. It’s the art where a small man or woman is going to prove to you, no matter how strong you are, no matter how mad you get, that you’re going to have to accept defeat. That’s what Brazilian Jiu-jitsu is.”- Saulo Ribeiro.6. “Before a big tournament, I stick to the stuff I’ve been doing and just drill it to death. If you’re thinking about what to do next, your competitor is already moving to his next move. It’s best to just react and let your body take over.”- Keenan Cornelius.7. “Look he carry all of my weight. That’s another theory of Jiu-Jitsu. When I rest I should put him to work so I don’t get tired and he get tired. He spend energy.”- Demian Maia.8. “Jiu-jitsu is personal efficiency to protect the weaker, which anyone can do. It is the force of leverage against brute force.”- Helio Gracie.9. “You go down practicing the art of Jiu-Jitsu. And the art is: how do I control and submit my opponent and survive using the least amount of attributes.”-  Chris Haueter.10. “I don’t know Jiu-Jitsu, I don’t know wrestling, all I know is how to fight. Period.”- James Toney.11. “I wasn’t always a champion. In fact, I did not win any tournament until I was a Black Belt”Felipe Costa12. “Everything about Jiu-Jitsu, I love it – the school, the mat, the ring.”- Marcelo Garcia.13. “The best thing about Jiu-Jitsu is the honor it provides.”– Fabio Gurgel.14. “Jiu-Jitsu is my therapy, my passion, my life.”- Matt Serra.15. “The most significant victories are the ones we accomplish within ourselves.”- Rorion Gracie.16. “When you’re training for Jiu-Jitsu, particularly if you’re training for a competition, you have to be pretty prescribed in the variety of what you eat.”- Anthony Bourdain.17. “Anyone who is serious about Jiu-Jitsu should know that the ability to defeat an opponent is nothing more than a metaphor for the ultimate combat”- Rorion Gracie.18. “To be good at Jiu-Jitsu it’s all about believing and training, there isn’t that much else you can do.”– Rodolfo Vieira.19. “Jiu-Jitsu is basic training for life. We are training not to learn how to fight, but how to live.”- Chris Matakas.20. “Fighting is not a physical thing, it is a spiritual thing”- Rickson Gracie.21. “Anger brought me to Jiu-Jitsu, but love made me stay.”– Abmar Barbosa.Funny Jiu-Jitsu QuotesHere are the funniest ones from the lot.22. “A black belt only covers two inches of your body. You have to cover the rest.”- Royce Gracie.23. “Spend more time in a Jiu-Jitsu gi than in street clothes.”- Ryron Gracie24. “Jiu-jitsu is very competitive. The winner can brag, the loser can keep quiet”– Roberto Atalla.25. “The idea of Jiu-Jitsu is to give the little guy a chance to beat the big guy.”- Royce Gracie.26. “Jiu-Jitsu is perfect. It’s humans who make errors.”- Rickson Gracie.27. “There’s more philosophy in Jiu-Jitsu mats than in any Ivy League school in America.”- Renzo Gracie.28. “A boxer is like a lion, the greatest predator on land, but you throw him in the shark tank and he’s just another meal.”- Renzo Gracie.29. “The pine fought the storm and broke. The willow yielded to the wind and snow and did not break. Practice Jiu-Jitsu in just this way.”- Kano Jigoro.30. “When you do Jiu-Jitsu, you won’t look at a bigger guy and say oh no, you’ll look and say how interesting!”- Rener Gracie.31. “I do Jiu-Jitsu so I can protect you when I fight you.”- Ryron Gracie.32. “Jiu-Jitsu is not the art of hitting, it’s the art of not getting hit”- Royce Gracie.Inspirational Jiu-Jitsu QuotesHere are some of the Brazilian jiu-jitsu quotes to motivate you.33. “I drill techniques – my main techniques, my A move, my A Game sweep, the guard pass and sub I hit the most, over and over again.”- Keenan Cornelius.34. “I’ve been training Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu all my life. Boxing, kickboxing. I’m definitely not a fighter, but I defend my honor.”- Spencer Pratt.35. “For me, I learned from Jiu-Jitsu and martial arts to be humble and to go forward in life in a positive way.”- Ricardo Liborio.36. “You can not anticipate what is going to happen. You must allow yourself to be in a zero point; a neutral point. Be relaxed and connected with the variations. ”- Rickson Gracie.37. “The rule is to train, train and train some more. Train until the lamb becomes the lion.”– Paulo Miyao.38. “There is no losing in Jiu-Jitsu. You either win or you learn.”– Carlos Gracie Jr.39. “When I started out, Jiu-Jitsu was really an elite thing in Brazil, and there was some prejudice towards poorer kids, so I had to learn things on my own.”- Anderson Silva.40. “I’m training at everything. Jiu-Jitsu, wrestling, striking. Everything. I think to be in the UFC, you have to be well-rounded at everything. That’s the goal.”- CM Punk.41. “A champion should ask himself: if I were to compete against myself, what would I practice to beat me?”- Leo Vieira.42. “Some of my neighbors started doing Jiu-Jitsu, so I started watching it, and then started rolling with them. It wasn’t organized training, but it was better than nothing.”- Anderson Silva.43. “When you first start to do Jiu-Jitsu everyone has the goal of being a black belt. You want to be great at everything you do.”- Junior Dos Santos.44. “I’m a very focused person. If I’m focusing on something I don’t like distractions and I like to just do that one thing. And Jiu-Jitsu and MMA basically became that one thing for me.”- Gunnar Nelson.45. “Learning defense improves the attack. I f the lion knows how the prey can escape, it’ll capture it in a much more precise way”- Rillion Gracie.Here at Kidadl, we have carefully created lots of interesting family-friendly quotes for everyone to enjoy! If you liked our suggestions for jiu-jitsu quotes then why not take a look at samurai quotes, and karate quotes.‍

Jiu-jitsu is one of the forms of modern martial arts with ancient roots.