Jane Austen was born on 16 December 1775.Jane Austen was an English novelist famous for her work at the end of the 18th century. ‘Pride And Prejudice’ and ‘Sense And Sensibility’ were the most famous works by Jane Austen.She achieved success as a writer with the publication of ‘Sense And Sensibility’ (1811), ‘Pride And Prejudice’ (1813), ‘Mansfield Park’ (1814), and ‘Emma’ (1816). Later she wrote two other novels, ‘Northanger Abbey’ and ‘Persuasion’, which were both published posthumously in 1818.Given below are popular quotes from Jane Austen. If you liked reading this list of our favorite Jane Austen quotes, you can also check out these ‘Pride And Prejudice’ quotes and ‘Sense And Sensibility’ quotes. Jane Austen ‘Pride And Prejudice’ QuotesOne of Austen’s most famous works, this novel includes all the amazing quotes that a good novel must! Below are some of her famous quotes.1. “Nothing is more deceitful… than the appearance of humility. It is often only carelessness of opinion, and sometimes an indirect boast.”- Jane Austen ‘Pride And Prejudice’.2. “A person who can write a long letter with ease, cannot write ill.”- Jane Austen ‘Pride And Prejudice’.3. “To be fond of dancing was a certain step towards falling in love.”- Jane Austen ‘Pride And Prejudice’.4. “For what do we live, but to make sport for our neighbors, and laugh at them in our turn?”- Jane Austen ‘Pride And Prejudice’.5. “But people themselves alter so much, that there is something new to be observed in them forever.”- Jane Austen ‘Pride And Prejudice’.Jane Austen ‘Sense And Sensibility’ QuotesThis book is so beautifully written that its charm equals tenderness. Enjoy these quotes by the iconic author.6. “The more I know of the world, the more I am convinced that I shall never see a man whom I can really love. I require so much!”- Jane Austen, ‘Sense And Sensibility’.7. “I wish, as well as everybody else, to be perfectly happy; but, like everybody else, it must be in my own way.”- Jane Austen, ‘Sense And Sensibility’.8. “Know your own happiness. You want nothing but patience - or give it a more fascinating name, call it hope.”- Jane Austen, ‘Sense And Sensibility’.9. “I come here with no expectations, only to profess, now that I am at liberty to do so, that my heart is and always will be… yours.”- Jane Austen, ‘Sense And Sensibility’.10. “It isn’t what we say or think that defines us, but what we do.”- Jane Austen, ‘Sense And Sensibility’.Jane Austen Quotes On LoveIn all her novels Austen talks about love. Find out more with these quotes.11. “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”- Jane Austen, ‘Pride And Prejudice’.12. “There is no charm equal to tenderness of heart…”- Jane Austen, ‘Emma’.13. “In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”- Jane Austen, ‘Pride And Prejudice’.14. “You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope… I have loved none but you.”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.15. “If I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more.”- Jane Austen, ‘Emma’.Jane Austen Quotes About WomenWhat will you discover from these Jane Austen quotes about women?16. “Good-humored, unaffected girls, will not do for a man who has been used to sensible women. They are two distinct orders of being.”- Jane Austen, ‘Mansfield Park’.17. “There are certainly not so many men of large fortune in the world, as there are pretty women to deserve them.”- Jane Austen, ‘Mansfield Park’.18. “Single women have a dreadful propensity for being poor. Which is one very strong argument in favor of matrimony.”- Jane Austen, ‘Pride And Prejudice’.19. “It is always incomprehensible to a man that a woman should ever refuse an offer of marriage.”- Jane Austen, ‘Emma’.20. “It sometimes happens that a woman is handsomer at twenty-nine than she was ten years before.”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.Jane Austen Quotes From ‘Letters To Cassandra’‘Letters To Cassandra’ is a really intimate piece from Austen as she writes to her sister about her life. Quotes from this work truly should be cherished.21. “You shall have mine forever so much money, though, if I am tolerably rich when I get home, I shall like it very much myself.”- Jane Austen, ‘Letter To Cassandra’.22. “Imagine to yourself everything most profligate and shocking in the way of dancing and sitting down together.”- Jane Austen, ‘Letters To Cassandra’.23. “For my own part, I care so little about the ball that it would be no sacrifice to me to give it up for the sake of seeing you two days earlier.”- Jane Austen, ‘Letters To Cassandra’.24. “I am very much flattered by your commendation of my last letter, for I write only for fame, and without any view to pecuniary emolument.”- Jane Austen, ‘Letters To Cassandra’.25. “People get so horridly poor & economical in this part of the world, that I have no patience with them… Kent is the only place for happiness.”- Jane Austen, ‘Letters To Cassandra’.Jane Austen Quotes From ‘Mansfield Park’‘Mansfield Park’ is one of her most controversial works to exist, even still it is hugely popular among literary critics and includes great quotes.26. “Selfishness must always be forgiven, you know, because there is no hope of a cure.”- Jane Austen, ‘Mansfield Park’.27. “A large income is the best recipe for happiness I ever heard of.”- Jane Austen, ‘Mansfield Park’.28. “Everybody likes to go their own way—to choose their own time and manner of devotion.”- Jane Austen, ‘Mansfield Park’.29. “I am very strong. Nothing ever fatigues me, but doing what I do not like.”- Jane Austen, ‘Mansfield Park’.30. “When people are waiting, they are bad judges of time, and every half-minute seems like five.”- Jane Austen, ‘Mansfield Park’.31. “A watch is always too fast or too slow. I cannot be dictated to by a watch.”- Jane Austen, ‘Mansfield Park’.Jane Austen ‘Persuasion’ QuotesHere, you can read the best quotes from the novel ‘Persuasion’.32. “There could have been no two hearts so open, no tastes so similar, no feelings so in unison, no countenances so beloved.”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.33. “I knew that we should either go to the bottom together or that she would be the making of me.”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.34. “One man’s ways may be as good as another’s, but we all like our own best.”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.35. “At nineteen, you know, one does not think very seriously.”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.36. “Such a letter was not soon to be recovered from.”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.37. “At last Anne was at home again, and happier than anyone in that house could have conceived.”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.38. “What wild imaginations one forms where dear self is concerned! How sure to be mistaken!”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.39. “Husbands and wives generally understand when opposition will be vain.”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.40. “I hate to hear you talk about all women as if they were fine ladies instead of rational creatures. None of us want to be in calm waters all our lives.”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.41. “When pain is over, the remembrance of it often becomes a pleasure.”- Jane Austen, ‘Persuasion’.More Jane Austen QuotesFind more great Jane Austen quotes here.42. “The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”- Jane Austen, ‘Northanger Abbey’.43. “I hate tiny parties, they force one into constant exertion."– Jane Austen, letter, 1801.44. “Friendship is certainly the finest balm for the pangs of disappointed love.”- Jane Austen, ‘Northanger Abbey’.45. “I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.”- Jane Austen.Here at Kidadl, we have carefully created lots of interesting family-friendly quotes for everyone to enjoy! If you liked our suggestions for Jane Austen quotes, why not look at these [‘Jane Eyre’ quotes] or women’s history month quotes too?

Jane Austen was born on 16 December 1775.