Judy Garland’s family was a Vaudeville troupe, which led to her singing from a very young age.Judy’s story is often described as a series of cliches about self-doubt and sadness. The fame at such a young age was too much for her as she had to reach out for help.Judy Garland rose to fame as a teenager with her angelic voice and an instinctive skill for acting, which she used to entertain audiences. She rose to stardom and then came back down just as quickly before reinventing herself. Judy’s performance in the movie ‘The Wizard of Oz’ (1939) made her a legend in what is often regarded as the greatest movie of all time. ‘For Me and My Gal’ (1942) is another acclaimed work, along with ‘Meet me in St. Louis’ (1944) , and ‘Easter Parade’ (1948).Her song ‘Somewhere Over The Rainbow’, which made her famous, focused on inspiring others and telling them how dreams do come true. In 1961 at Carnegie Hall, Judy had a historic concert, and it was described as the “greatest night in show business”. Her subsequent double album spent 95 weeks at the Billboard charts including thirteen weeks at number one. Here are some of the best Judy Garland quotes all for you! Scroll down as we present to you the best Judy Garland quotes. This list also has a variety of sad quotes by Judy Garland.For more related content, take a look at ‘A Star Is Born’ quotes and Katharine Hepburn quotes.Famous Judy Garland QuotesSome of the most well known Judy Garland quotes.1. “I’m the original take-orders girl."― Judy Garland.2. “People en masse have always been wonderful to me. I truly have a great love for an audience…I want to give them two hours of just pow."― Judy Garland.3. “As for my feelings toward “Over the Rainbow”, it’s become part of my life. It is so symbolic of all dreams and wishes that I’m sure that’s why people sometimes get tears in their eyes when they hear it."― Judy Garland.4. “It’s lonely and cold on the top… lonely and cold."― Judy Garland.5. “I try to bring the audience’s own drama - tears and laughter they know about - to them."― Judy Garland.6. “Velveeta: you can eat it - or wax your car with it!"― Judy Garland.7. “I’m always being painted a more tragic figure than I am, I get awfully bored with myself as a tragic figure."― Judy Garland.8. “I’ve been in love with audiences all my life, and I’ve tried to please. I hope I did."― Judy Garland.9. “For twas not into my ear you whispered,But into my heart.Twas not my lips you kissed,But my soul."― Judy Garland.10. “I can live without money, but I cannot live without love."― Judy Garland.11. “I think there’s something peculiar about me that I haven’t died. It doesn’t make sense but I refuse to die."― Judy Garland.12. “I was born at the age of twelve on a Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer lot."― Judy Garland.13. “I’ve never looked through a keyhole without finding someone was looking back."― Judy Garland, Interview with NBC TV.14. “Hollywood is a strange place if you’re in trouble. Everybody thinks it’s contagious."― Judy Garland.Best Judy Garland QuotesAmazing quotes from the legendary actress.15. “I truly have a great love for an audience, and I used to prove it to them by giving them blood."― Judy Garland.16. “You know something? I’m decent! There isn’t a great deal of decency in the world, especially in our business, and I’m one of the few really decent ladies around."― Judy Garland.17. “I’ve seen the ticket, and I still can’t believe it. When I see the money, I hope I don’t hit the floor."― Judy Garland.18. “My life, my career has been a roller coaster. I’ve either been an enormous success or just a down-and-out failure."― Judy Garland.19. “If I am a legend, then why am I so lonely?"― Judy Garland.20. “Audiences have kept me alive."—Judy Garland.21. “We cast away priceless time in dreams, born of imagination, fed upon illusion, and put to death by reality."― Judy Garland.22. “If you have to be in a soap opera try not to be cast in the worst role."― Judy Garland.23. “How strange when an illusion dies. It’s as though you’ve lost a child."― Judy Garland.Inspirational Judy Garland QuotesGreat quotes for the people who need some inspiration on never giving up.24. “He gave me a look at myself I’ve never had before. He saw something in me nobody else ever did. He made me see it too…He made me believe it."― Judy Garland.25. “Somewhere over the rainbow, skies are blue, and the dreams that you dare to dream really do come true."― Judy Garland.26. “Every time the camera rolls, I think to myself Maybe this is the time they’re going to catch me."― Judy Garland.27. “The greatest treasures are those invisible to the eye but found by the heart."― Judy Garland.28. “Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else."― Judy Garland.29. “Behind every cloud is another cloud."― Judy Garland.30. “I’ve always taken ‘The Wizard of Oz’ very seriously, you know. I believe in the idea of the rainbow. And I’ve spent my entire life trying to get over it."― Judy Garland.31. “Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could all be a little more gentle with each other, and a little more loving, have a little more empathy, and maybe we’d like each other a little bit more."― Judy Garland.32. “I could sketch out a score in different keys, a new way each time."― Judy Garland.33. “The greatest treasures are those invisible to the eye but found by the heart."― Judy Garland.34. “I wanted to believe and I tried my damndest to believe in the rainbow that I tried to get over and couldn’t. So what? Lots of people can’t."― Judy Garland.Judy Garland Movie QuotesHere are the best quotes from Judy Garland movies.35. “A heart is not judged by how much you love, but by how much you are loved by others."― Dorothy Gale, ‘The Wizards of Oz’.36. “The main thing is, Tootie, that we’re all going to be together, just like we’ve always been. That’s what really counts. We could be happy anywhere as long as we’re together."― Esther Smith, ‘Meet Me in St. Louis’.37. “You’re the most deceitful, horrible, sinful creature I ever saw, and I don’t ever want to have anything to do with you again."― Esther Smith, ‘Meet Me in St. Louis’.38. “Nellie Kelly: There’s nothing like a darn good cry, is there?Michael Noonan: There’s whiskey."― ‘Little Nellie Kelly’.39. “Psychologically, I’m very confused, but personally I feel just wonderful."― Veronica Fisher, ‘In the Good Old Summertime’.40. “Oh dear! I keep forgetting I’m not in Kansas!"― Dorothy Gale, ‘The Wizards of Oz’.41. “Well, Papa, if losing a case depresses you so, why don’t you quit practicing law and go into another line of business?"― Esther Smith, ‘Meet Me in St. Louis’.Here at Kidadl, we have carefully created lots of interesting family-friendly quotes for everyone to enjoy! If you liked our suggestions for Judy Garland Quotes then why not take a look at Julie Andrews quotes, or [White Christmas quotes].  

Judy Garland’s family was a Vaudeville troupe, which led to her singing from a very young age.