Dick Vitale was famously known as a basketball sportscaster and a former coach who was famous for his work as a broadcaster of college basketball under ESPN.He was fondly known as ‘Dickie V’ and sensationalized the catchphrase “this is awesome, baby!”. He worked for 40 years under ESPN and was greatly regarded for his unique and witty remarks, making phrases like “diaper dandy” (meaning an exceptional freshman basketball player) hugely popular.He has been featured in several films and has also written nine books. Here is a list of some of the greatest Dickie V quotes that will blow you away.If you like our content, you can check out these Stuart Scott quotes and [Woody Paige quotes] too.‍Iconic Dick Vitale QuotesHere is a list of some of the most unforgettable Dick Vitale quotes that all sports fans and basketball players will remember. Check out the iconic Dick Vitale quotes and sayings below.1. “The glory of sport is witnessing a well-coached team perform as a single unit, striving for a common goal and ultimately bringing distinction to the jersey the players represent."-Dick Vitale.2. “In my mind, he’s done an amazing job, and he’s certainly one of the favorites for national coach of the year. To think what’s done thereafter losing so much from last year’s team, it just blows my mind."-Dick Vitale.3. “The NCAA can’t pay the players… If a kid is good enough, and an agent wants to give him money, let them give him money."-Dick Vitale.4. “I’m a basketball guy. No sitcom guy. I don’t care about all that jazz. I care about basketball."-Dick Vitale.5. “I feel like I’m 68; I act like I’m 12, talking about a game of basketball."-Dick Vitale.6. “One day to see that headline, not that someone won a basketball championship, but to see that a cure for cancer has been found, will be a great day for mankind."-Dick Vitale.7. “Really, UCLA’s a great place as well, but they don’t have the kind of environment they have here. The fans here have a passion."-Dick Vitale.8. “I have a problem with honoring mediocrity in so many cases over teams that have great years."-Dick Vitale.9. “I do a lot of motivational speaking in front of crowds, so I learn from some of these people. I really do, even at my age."-Dick Vitale.10. “The Allstate March Mayhem Challenge is a great, great bracket challenge."-Dick Vitale.The Best Dick Vitale QuotesHere’s a list of famous Dick Vitale quotes for basketball players or lovers of the sport. Check out the finest Dick Vitale quotes and sayings below. Some of these quotes show how much he loves the game.11. “It’s not over. I’m confident they can do it. But it’s not a closed case."-Dick Vitale.12. “I want to continue to learn because I plan on being around."-Dick Vitale.13.“Bottom line is, I love the game too much. There’s no place in the game for coaches talking on wiretaps about buying players."-Dick Vitale.14. “I love what I’m doing. I enjoy life."-Dick Vitale.15. “If Morrison doesn’t get a Player of the Year award, I’ll buy him a gold trophy, call it the Dickie V. P-T-Per Award, and ship it out to him myself."-Dick Vitale.16. “I am so sick and tired of ppl that call themselves fans & justifying the brutal FBI Wiretap comments of their LSU coach…"-Dick Vitale, Twitter, 24 March, 2019.17. “If you gave 110 percent all the time, a lot of beautiful things will happen."-Dick Vitale.18. “If Taylor Swift was on campus as a student, she’d be allowed to do concerts and make millions. Certain kids in every profession, be it the corporate world, the legal world, people on the top and people on the bottom, can make those dollars. Why should we deny them?"-Dick Vitale.19. “The biggest thing in my life – the biggest – is raising dollars to help kids battle cancer."-Dick Vitale.20. “My plan is very simple. The Dickie V plan."-Dick Vitale.Funny Quotes By The Iconic Dick VitaleNot only was Dickie V an outstanding broadcaster, but in general he had a very sunny personality. Here’s a list of some of the funniest Dick Vitale quotes and sayings. So, check out these Dick Vitale quotes and sayings which are hilarious.21. “Who would ever think to associate basketball with the term ‘communitarianism’? That’s a mouthful, baby! Or who would ever expect to be talking about hoops and Aristotle in the same sentence? Or Machiavelli and roundball?"–Dick Vitale, ‘Basketball And Philosophy’.22. “The Heels are on fire. Somebody call up the fire chief to put out the fire."–Dick Vitale.23. “If Princeton can beat Georgetown, I am going to hitchhike to Providence, which isn’t that far from here, I’m gonna be their ball boy on their next game, and then I’m gonna change into a Princeton cheer-leading uniform and I’m gonna lead all the cheers."–Dick Vitale.24. “I’m living the American dream."–Dick Vitale.25. “That just goes with the territory whenever you’re a superstar and play for a great team. That’s a compliment. That means you’ve made it."–Dick Vitale.26. “Take this philosophical excursion, analyze it, dissect it, and argue with it. I am so proud to know that the game I love has even touched philosophical prime-time players like Walls and Bassham."–Dick Vitale, ‘Basketball And Philosophy’.27. “Unbelievable! Connecticut wins their first Big East Championship. This group of people! Dance, Jimmy, baby! Dance, Jimmy, baby!"–Dick Vitale.28. “John Wooden has been a vital force in the lives of many with his inspirational messages. “–Dick Vitale.29. “Maybe the next Michelangelo of philosophy will read this book and come to share my passion for Mr. Naismith’s marvelous game."–Dick Vitale, ‘Basketball And Philosophy’.30. “I love seeing people that have control of a crowd in the palm of their hand. It’s beautiful for me to see."–Dick Vitale.31. “It’s not me. And I stayed with what I did, and I’m very proud that I did that because I make a great living."–Dick Vitale.Here at Kidadl, we have carefully created lots of interesting family-friendly quotes for everyone to enjoy! If you liked our suggestions for Dick Vitale quotes then why not take a look at these baseketball quotes or Charles Barkley quotes for more great quotes?

Dick Vitale was famously known as a basketball sportscaster and a former coach who was famous for his work as a broadcaster of college basketball under ESPN.