Do you remember the rhyme ‘Sticks And Stones’ from when you were little?“Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me,” is an old adage and idiom used in response to verbal abuse, bullying in school or work, or an insult on any day of our life. It is not a metaphor, but it implies that in our life, someone can hurt you physically by using sticks and stones, but words will never hurt you until you consider them.The phrase ‘stick and stones’ also means that on a particular day, any unpleasant words that were spoken by us or by someone to us, last longer and hurt more. Some of these phrases encourage us to give little importance to unpleasant things and go ahead with life. We should kick start our day as they should not harm us. Few phrases tell us that words are more painful than any physical wound. Have you asked yourself why someone’s words should hurt us at school, work, or at any point in time in our lives? Isn’t it good to always speak with love and ignore unpleasant words on any day to stay happy in our life?Alexander William Kinglake is the first person to use this in ‘Eothen’, 1844. It has later become a famous rhyme and also used as an old adage. An American stand-up show of this name focuses on day-to-day bullying at the work. These phrases are used in many songs and poems. ‘Stick and stones’ is an idiom and not a metaphor.See below for the best sticks and stones quotes, and if you like them check out you got this quotes and be brave quotes.Best Stick And Stones May Break My Bones QuotesThere are many phrases in the old adage ‘Sticks And Stones’. Few phrases state that the words hurt, and few quotes help the self-motivated, not to be hurt by others’ comments. Find below the best of ‘Sticks And Stones’ quotes.1.“I’d rather have names to hurt me, than my bones broken with sticks and stones."-Anthony Liccione.2.”…Societies aren t made of sticks and stones, but of men whose individual characters, by turning the scale one way or another, determine the direction of the whole."-Plato.3..“Sticks and stones may break your bones, but Chinese throwing stars get you a dozen stitches."-Jim Butcher.4.“I grew up under the sticks and stones rule. I didn’t put my hands on you so why should you put your hands on me or my family."-Tim Hardaway.5.“Sticks and stones build strong houses."-Melody Carstairs.6.“I have learned now that while those who speak about one’s miseries usually hurt, those who keep silence hurt more."-C.S. Lewis.7.“I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."-Albert Einstein.8.“The object of our lives is to look at, listen to, touch, taste things. Without them, - these sticks, stones, feathers, shells, - there is no Deity."-Reginald Horace Blyth.9.”…mental wounds can grind and ooze for decades and be re-opened by the quietest whisper.”- Stephen Fry.10.“Sticks and stones have made me smarter it’s words that cut me under my armor they say…"-St.Vincent.Quotes To Make Sure Words Never Hurt You.People speak unpleasantly. However, words can hurt us only when we allow them to. Find below a few of the best ‘Stick And Stones’ quotes to make sure words never hurt you.11.“Sticks and stones can break your bones, but words can never hurt you…unless you believe them. Then, they can destroy you."-Charles F. Glassman.12.“If someone calls me stupid, I have to actually believe I’m stupid in order for it to affect me."-Rachel D. Greenwell.13.“There will always be someone willing to hurt you, put you down, gossip about you, belittle your accomplishments and judge your soul. It is a fact that we all must face. However, if you realize that God is a best friend that stands beside you when others cast stones you will never be afraid, never feel worthless and never feel alone."-Shannon Alder.14.“Now sticks ’n’ stones’ll break ya bones, a little tokin’ never hurt no one. Let’s toke, toke, toke about it."-Nikola Tesla.15.“Sticks and stones may break my bones, but I can heal from that. Words can kill, whenthey break your will, and words you can’t take back."-The Malwatch.Words Hurt More Than Sticks And Stones Quotes’The pen is mightier than the sword’, but words can hurt us deeper than any physical pain. Check out the below quotes on how deep words hurt.16.“Sticks and stones may break my bones but your words were always the hardest."-Dominic Riccitello.17.” Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will make me go in a corner and cry by myself for hours."-Eric Idle.18.“Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will always hurt me. Bones mend and become actually stronger in the very place they were broken and where they have knitted up."-Stephen Fry.19.“Sticks and stones may break our bones, but names will break our spirit."-James Howe.20.“Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words can make me think I deserved it."-Randall Munroe.21.“Sticks and stones may break your bones but words can hurt like hell."-Chuck Palahniuk.22.“Sticks and stones can only break bones, but words can shatter the soul.”-Adam Savage.23.“Sticks and stones may break bones, but the Gat will kill you quicker."-The Notorious B.I.G.24.“Words are really powerful. I don’t believe that axiom at all - words can absolutely hurt you. Words can wound. They can do a lot of damage. I think they can do way more damage than sticks and stones. I’ll take sticks and stones."-Mary-Louise Parker.Here at Kidadl, we have carefully created lots of interesting family-friendly quotes for everyone to enjoy! If you liked our suggestions for then why not take a look at strong mom quotes and struggle quotes.

Do you remember the rhyme ‘Sticks And Stones’ from when you were little?