‘Les Misérables’ is a very popular novel written by the author Victor Hugo in the year 1862.It has since been adapted into a musical of the same name and several movies. We’ve curated this list of quotes from the original book as well as some other adaptations.If you want to read more similar quotes, then check out these Victor Hugo quotes and Anatole France quotes. Best ‘Les Miserables’ QuotesHere are some famous quotes from ‘Les Miserables’.1. “Without me his world will go on turning, A world that’s full of happiness, That I have never known!”- Eponine, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.2. “Empty chairs at empty tables, where my friends shall sing no more.”- Marius, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.3. “You know nothing of Javert. I was born inside a jail.”- Javert, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.4. “Don’t you fret, M’sieur Marius. I don’t feel any pain.”- Eponine ‘Les Miserables Musical’.5. “When the beating of your heart echoes the beating the beating of the drums, there is a life about to start when tomorrow comes!”- Enjolras and Marius, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.6. “Please do not send me out alone, not in the darkness on my own.”- Cosette, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.7. “A little fall of rain. Can hardly hurt me now.”- Eponine ‘Les Miserables Musical’.8. “And my life seems to stop. As if something is over. And something has scarcely begun.”- Marius, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.9. “Valjean, at last. We see each-other plain.”- Javert, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.10. “There’s so little I know that I’m longing to know.”- Cosette, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.11. “Oh, my friends! My friends, don’t ask me what your sacrifice was for!”- Marius, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.12. “Do you hear the people sing, singing the song of angry men? It is the music of a people who will not be slaves again.”- Enjolras and Marius, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.13. “I am the law and the law is not mocked.”- Javert, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.14. “And I yearn for the truth that you know.”- Cosette, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.15. “There is a castle on a cloud. I like to go there in my sleep.”- Cosette, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.16. “Beyond the barricade is there a world you long to see? Then join in the fight that will give you the right to be free!”- Revolutionaries, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.17. “It will come, citizens, that day when all shall be concord, harmony, light, joy, and life.”- Enjolras, ‘Les Miserables Book’.18. “Hurry near, another day is dying.”- Fantine, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.19. “Do you hear the people sing. Lost in the valley of the night?”- Cast, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.20. “Red, the blood of angry men. Black, the dark of ages past. Red, a world about to dawn. Black, the night that ends at last!”- Enjolras and Marius, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.21. “Now prisoner 24601, your time is up and your parole’s begun. You know what that means?”- Javert, ‘Les Miserables Movie (2012)’.22. “I had a dream my life would be so different from this hell I’m living. So different now than what it seemed. Now life has killed the dream I dreamed.”- Fantine, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.23. “In the future no man will slay his fellow, the earth will be radiant, the human race will love.”- Enjolras, ‘Les Miserables Book’.24. “Tomorrow we’ll discover what our God in Heaven has in store! One more dawn! One more day! One day more!”- Whole Cast,  ‘Les Miserables Musical’.25. “At the end of the day you’re another day older, and that’s all you can say for the life of the poor.”- Workers, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.26. “I have bought your soul for God!”- Bishop ‘Les Miserables Musical’.27. “Citizens, in the future there shall be neither darkness nor thunderbolts, neither ferocious ignorance nor blood for blood.”- Enjolras, ‘Les Miserables Book’.28. “‘The most beautiful of altars,’ he said, ‘is the soul of an unhappy creature consoled and thanking God.’”- Bishop, ‘Les Miserables Book’.29. “And if you fall as Lucifer fell. You fall in flame!”- Javert, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.30. “If there’s a God in heaven, He would let me die instead.”- Fantine, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.31. “I dreamed a dream in time gone by, when hope was high and life worth living.”- Fantine, ‘Les Miserables Musical’.‘Les Miserables’ Book QuotesHere are the best ‘Les Miserables’ quotes from the Victor Hugo novel.32. “There is a point at which the unfortunate and the infamous are associated and confounded in a single word, a fatal word, Les Misérables.”- Victor Hugo.33. “There is nothing like a dream to create future.”- Victor Hugo.34. “Not seeing people permits us to imagine them with every perfection.”- Victor Hugo.35. “Let us sacrifice one day to gain perhaps a whole life.”- Victor Hugo.36. “People weighed down with troubles do not look back.”- Victor Hugo.37. “How was it that the birds sing, that the snow melts.”- Victor Hugo.38. “The power of a glance has been so much abused in love stories, that it has come to be disbelieved in.”- Victor Hugo.39. “He had at last found one of these diamonds.”- Victor Hugo.40. “Nobody knows like a woman how to say things that are both sweet and profound.”- Victor Hugo.41. “Teach the ignorant as much as you can.”- Victor Hugo.42. “They know only too well that misfortune stalks them.”- Victor Hugo.43. “Great perils share this beauty that they bring to light the fraternity of strangers.”- Victor Hugo.44. “Isn’t every war fought between men, between brothers?”- Victor Hugo.45. “She did not ask him; did not even think where and how he had managed to get into the garden.”- Victor Hugo.46. “Nobody loves the light like the blind man.”- Victor Hugo.47. “A man is not idle because he is absorbed in thought. There is visible labor and there is invisible labor.”- Victor Hugo.48. “Those who do not weep, do not see.”- Victor Hugo.49. “The pupil dilates in darkness and in the end finds light, just as the soul dilates in misfortune and in the end finds God.”- Victor Hugo.50. “At times, Cosette faltered out a word. Her soul trembled on her lips like a drop of dew on a flower.”- Victor Hugo.51. “He never went out without a book under his arm, and he often came back with two.”- Victor Hugo.52. “Love is the foolishness of men, and the wisdom of God.”- Victor Hugo.53. “Faith is necessary to men; woe to him who believes in nothing!”- Victor Hugo.54. “Before him he saw two roads, both equally straight; but he did see two; and that terrified him – he who had never in his life known anything but one straight line.”- Victor Hugo.55. “Gentlemen of the human race, I say to hell with the lot of you.”- Victor Hugo.56. “She let her head fall back upon Marius’ knees and her eyelids closed. He thought that poor soul had gone.”- Victor Hugo.57. “I’d like a drink. I desire to forget life.”- Victor Hugo.58. “There were no more words. The stars were beginning to shine.”- Victor Hugo.59. “Death belongs to God alone. By what right do men touch that unknown thing?”- Victor Hugo.60. “Not being heard is no reason for silence.”- Victor Hugo.61. “Laughter is sunshine, it chases winter from the human face.”- Victor Hugo.62. “The way night comes when day is done.”- Victor Hugo.63. “It is nothing to die. It is frightful not to live.”- Victor Hugo.‘Les Miserables’ Love QuotesHere are the best quotes from ‘Les Miserables’ about love.64. “Love is knowing that even when you are alone, you will never be lonely again.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).65. “The great acts of love are done by those who are habitually performing small acts of kindness. We pardon to the extent that we love.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).66. “You’re here, that’s all I need to know. And you will keep me safe. And you will keep me close.”- Eponine ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).67. “If people did not love one another, I really don’t see what use there would be in having any spring.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).68. “Without me his world will go on turning.”- Eponine ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).69. “What is love? I have met in the streets a very poor young man who was in love. His hat was old, his coat worn, the water passed through his shoes and the stars through his soul.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).70. “I love him. But every day I’m learning. All my life I’ve only been pretending.”- Eponine ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).71. “Yet it is this way that love begins, and in this way only.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).72. “What more could he ask? A few flowers at his feet and above him the stars.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).73. “They saw each other; and, like the stars in the sky separated by millions of leagues, they lived by gazing upon each other.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).74. “Life’s great happiness is to be convinced we are loved.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).75. “Few people dare now to say that two beings have fallen in love because they have looked at each other.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).76. “And by the way, Monsieur Marius, I believe that I was a little bit in love with you.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).77. “You can give without loving, but you can never love without giving.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).78. “I have been loving you a little more every minute since this morning.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).79. “To love or have loved, that is enough. Ask nothing further. There is no other pearl to be found in the dark folds of life.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).80. “From time to time Marius’ knee touched Cosette’s. A touch that thrilled.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).81. “If no one loved, the sun would go out.”- Victor Hugo, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).82. “I dreamed that love would never die. I dreamed that God would be forgiving.”- Fantine, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).83. “Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.”- Cast, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).84. “And remember, the truth that once was spoken: to love another person is to see the face of God.”- Fantine, Jean Valjean and Eponine, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).‘Les Miserables’ Jean Valjean QuotesHere are the quotes from one of the best ‘Les Miserables’ characters, Jean Valjean.85. “You are free, and there are no conditions, No bargains or petitions. There’s nothing that I blame you for. You’ve done your duty, nothing more.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).86. “One Day More. Another day another destiny. This neverending road to Calvary. These men who seem to know my crime will surely come a second time. One Day More!”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).87. “No more words! No more words, it’s a time that is dead! There are words, that are better unheard, better unsaid!”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).88. “Dear Cosette. You’re such a lonely child!. How pensive, how sad you seem to be. Believe me, if it were in my power. I’d fill each passing hour.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).89. “If I speak, I am condemned.If I stay silent, I am damned!”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).90. “He told me that I have a soul, How does he know?”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).91. “You have only done your duty.It’s a minor sin at most.All of us have made misjudgmentsYou will return Sir to your post.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).92. “Let him be. Let him live. If I die, let me die.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).93. “I am warning you, Javert! I’m the stronger man by far. There is power in me yet. My race is not yet run!”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).94. “They are the guilty, everyone.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).95. “I am reaching, but I fall, and the night is closing in, as I stare into the void, into the whirlpool of my sin.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).96. “Yet why did I allow that man to touch my soul and teach me love? He treated me like any other, he gave me his trust, he called me brother.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).97. “Never forget the years, the waste.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).98. “One Day More. Another day another destiny.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).99. “My soul belongs to God, I know, I made that bargain long ago.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).100. “I’ll escape now from the world, from the world of Jean Valjean. Jean Valjean is nothing now! Another story must begin!”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).101. “The day begins and now let’s see what this new world will do for me.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).102. “Look down, look down, don’t look them in the eye.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Book).103. “My life he claims for God above. Can such things be? For I had come to hate the world, this world that always hated me.”- Jean Valjean, ‘Les Miserables’ (Musical).Here at Kidadl, we have carefully created lots of interesting family-friendly quotes for everyone to enjoy! If you liked our suggestions for ‘Les Misérables’ quotes then why not take a look at Marcel Proust quotes, or [Shakespeare Love quotes].

‘Les Misérables’ is a very popular novel written by the author Victor Hugo in the year 1862.